People who don’t want health insurance bug me

I write health insurance for individuals for a living, and I am amazed how people decide not to have health insurance when their payment is $60-$120 per month. I understand if they have no job and can’t afford that, but when they have a job and choose not to pay it because they will go to the ER for care because you can’t be denied, that irritates the heck out of me. I hear that all the time from mostly people in their 20’s and 30’s. Maybe if they would cut back on their video games, or their driving, or whatever they waste their money on. The government is so hell bent on making sure everyone gets healthcare. So who pays for people that don’t want to pay their portion? I do, you do, and that is not right.

I go to meetings all the time with health carriers and they tell me that premiums will go up 70% based on the latest revisions. Health carriers are in business to write a profit. Their profit margin is 3% and they can’t be profitable if they are insuring everyone on the current rates.

All it takes is interstate commerce, tort reform, and clean up the fraud in Medicare and Medicaid. Also, in regards to treating illegals. Why not patch them up and send them back to their country for their care?

God bless America,
Darrell

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment